Montreal – May 2009

Two years ago I was brushing the grit of Newfoundland bluestone off my shoes when I attended the CLA conference in St. John`s. Now, at CLA 2009 in Montreal I’m marveling at the Montreal greystone buildings such as Notre-Dame Basilica.
 
 
DCP_1771
Notre-Dame Basilica.
 
The statue in front of the basilica is of Paul Chomedy, sieur de Maissoneuve, first governor of the island of Montreal.
 
 
 
DCP_1781
Palais des Congrès, site of CLA 2009
 
A few blocks away from Notre-Dame Basilica, and in sharp contrast to the Montreal greystone, is the colourful, modern new conference centre, Palais des Congrès. I just missed getting a photo of the flames that encircle the fountain from time to time. One of many eyepopping sites I saw today.
 
 
DCP_1778
The Apotheosis of Napoleon
I.
 
This marble sculpture is a copy of an original created by Bertel Thorvaldsen in 1830. Because of the rain on my first day, I sought out indoor activities, and so I hiked up to the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts where an exhibit of Napoleon artifacts was being displayed. Outside the round window is Montreal, where you can see the base of Mount Royal, the tall hill at the centre of the Island of Montreal.
 
 
DCP_1774
The original Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
 
The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (French: Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal) now includes a modern building designed by Moshe Safdie (from where this photo was taken). The original building across the street now houses artifacts focusing on Quebec history. The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts was founded in 1860 and is Canada`s oldest art institution.
 
Despite the rain I was able to explore much of Old Montreal, in addition to my jaunt northwest to the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Hopefully, as the weather clears I will be able to take better photographs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

